Living on my Block

Doron_Rozanne3Very important news for my family: I’m delighted to announce that my ‘baby’ son, of 31 has just gotten engaged to the very lovely and divine young lady whom I loved the minute I met! She fits into our crazy family like a glove and I feel comfortable enough with her to say she is very much like my own 2 daughters. How lucky am I? I can’t wait for my girls and their families to meet her. G-d knows when, as they are as far away across the world as can be from South Africa, living on the West Coast of the USA. Doron and Rozanne, heartiest Mazel Tov to you both on this wonderful celebration and may you be blessed with 120 years of health, happiness and love, together! Le’Chaim – to Life!

As well, my son in law, has been chosen as one of the 40 under 40’s most successful business people in San Francisco by the San Francisco Business Times. Congratulations Ryan to you and all the family on this fabulous accolade. Celebratory event tonight at AT&T Park in San Francisco.

In between the excitement, I have been dealing with hectic issues in our neighbourhood/suburb. Writing letters and meeting with our Metro Police, City Council and City Planning officers takes so much time and energy: there hasn’t been a minute for anything else in my life.

Dear S (Ward Councillor)

Our street has 2 blocks – a little street of only 2 blocks from a large calming traffic circle and crossing a largish, rather busy road running across from a school which is at the beginning and then crossing several other small streets which have all been blocked off (most illegally), on both sides, down to another little traffic circle about 1.5 km in all.

Around the end of December 2012, the first section of C (our) Road, from the large circle to Sussex, was fenced off and gated (locked – no guard, no boom), with no warning to the residents in the surrounding area. Not a ‘by your leave’ or whisper to the rest of us [the neighbourhood]. No permission was sought, no time given to gather signatures or to discuss the pros and cons of this security fencing [fiasco]. Whomever is responsible for it, decided he/she was above the law or better than the law. This has caused untold problems to the traffic, both pedestrian and motor, throughout the ENTIRE neighbourhood: ALL the other roads, above and below and around us, have been gated as well. Most, as mentioned before are illegal. Willy-nilly, people are blocking our access and our staff access and I believe this has to stop. WE use up more petrol going to appointments on the other, shopping side of A—- Road, because of this total BLOCKADE, besides the irritating inconvenience of going a long, long way round to get to any exit out of our suburb

Added to this, the “long” way round, is past the High School, the road of which is a disaster area and an accident waiting to happen. These parents of scholars think they are above reproach with no consideration for others at all. Double & triple parking in the street on both sides of the road (one side being totally residential), so through traffic comes to a complete halt. (It’s the only other way of getting to and from our home and our street). We are the residents of these few streets and we need to come and go at will – not when it suits the parents and pupils and staff of the School! And having the newest illegal gating happening, it’s become a total disaster area. The parents are very put out if we hoot, or gesture to them, even respectfully! Besides the total inconvenience, someone is going to get badly hurt on that street one day… there is going to be a tragedy sadly!

The two issues are definitely interlinked. While I appreciate the “gated community’s” concerns, security-wise, we are in the same position as all the other residents in this part of Lynnwood, however our section has now become the “main” [ungated] road. Since we are the only section in the area that is un-gated and which is now a MAIN thoroughfare for all and sundry! Our staff  have to walk kilometres out of their way from their bus drop-offs on the main bus route to get through to our end because of all these locked gates and fences. It is totally unacceptable! How dare they block off our only straight access to our home in the very same street?

And what is the point of the large traffic ‘calming’ circle when, all but one of the 5 exits off the circle, have been gated??? The circle has become obsolete as a traffic ‘calmer’ with only one road available to turn into anyway.

No traffic impact study was done by traffic engineer and city planning and they have not been given permission to erect this gate as yet, but did it anyway without thought for any of us.

I implore you to do something about these highly ILLEGAL fences/gates. We don’t want them as they are totally disruptive to our lives.

Hoping to get some solution and resolution ASAP, we await your response eagerly.
Sincerely, etc etc

Next episode: At the 11th hour last Friday, as the Metro Police were on their way to physically remove the gate, when the ‘guilty’ residents sent an SOS – “we’ll open the gate from 6 am to 6 pm, don’t remove the gate!”

(Our compromise was 7 am to 7 pm when we met early in February.) Well, the gate was then closed at 5.15 pm on Friday and stayed locked until Monday morning at 8 am. The saga continues and I’m not letting it rest… the lawlessness in this country has become an epidemic right from the top of our government to the lowly common people (like me). Corruption is rife and we see it permeating from the very top… down. This country is declining into anarchy and no one does anything about it…? People feel they are knocking their heads against brick walls, and thus they opt out.
Well I’m not opting out! I’m fighting this, to the bitter end, if it kills me. Damn their ‘famous advocates and judges and doctors who live in that section’ (as was quoted to us by one of their residents when she said they’re going to take it to the highest court – lady, you’re ALL still breaking the law and we’re all the same when we get to the other side to meet our maker – G-d surely doesn’t care if you were a judge or not – you are going to be ‘judged’ on whether you were good or bad or a law-keeper or lawbreaker – to put it simply!).

 

About d1nx

Techno-Gran living and working in Pretoria, South Africa and spending 3 months of the year with my 2 daughters and their husbands and 5 grandchildren on the East Bay, Northern Californa. Started blogging on my recovery from Spinal surgery in 2007 and have taken many twists and turns on my life's journey and varying chapters of my life.
This entry was posted in Family Celebrations, Personal Journal, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Living on my Block

  1. 68ghia says:

    Firstly, congrats on the young man at last settling down!!! I’m happy for you guys ;-)
    As for the law breaking – I’m thinking about the same things. Different sets of rules for different social castes. Grates my nuts!!! As I said, the fact that you’re a judge does not make you less of an asshole – just makes you an asshole that happens to be a judge!
    Hope you get this sorted soon Di! Although I must say – I’m about ready to opt the hell out. Just don’t know where to or with what!

    • d1nx says:

      Thanks for the congrats J. I’m happy for him – never seen him so happy. I like your phrase ‘grates my nuts’ – that’s exactly how it feels. But if you don’t go all out, we never get anywhere – not in this country with the wild west mentality we live in. If I could afford medical insurance, I would get out now.. sadly, I don’t have that luxury. xxx And good luck with your teeth!!!!

  2. Channi Hurwitz says:

    WEll Di,you’ve always ben a fighter for a cause and this one sounds exactly like somehing you’re going to really put lots of energy into,JUST don’t forget about your health while you’re about it.Keep the perspective.The young couple are lovely and so nice that she’s like one of the family.Couldn’t be better..Looking forward to seeing you and Mazeltov for Rynas grand achievement.

    • d1nx says:

      Oh wow Ri – this is a very unexpected honour to have YOU on my blog :). Love it… thank you! The cause is 1/2 way done.. I just have to fight for the finer points now. ;). And thanks for the mazzies for Ryan. He is an amazing young man – he’s a 100% Entrepreneur.. not a wannabe by any means.
      Will speak to you after the Le Chaim on Sunday evening – will send you photos. Lots of love and hugs to you and the kids xxx

  3. Tandy says:

    Me and my jeep would drive through the gate!

    • d1nx says:

      Hey Tandy.. you must know that I wished for one of those jeeps with that bull catcher thingie on the bumper so badly last Friday evening.. I think I would have driven through. I’m so angry, but I have to keep my cool to work with City officials… you know how you get lots more using honey. Uggghhhhh :->>>

  4. colonialist says:

    Congrats on his engagement – she seems delightful.
    And you have every reason to be very proud of the achiever in USA!

  5. Congratulations to your son and his fiance :) And more congrats to the under 40 businessman!
    You family sounds wonderful Dinxie.

    • d1nx says:

      Thank you hope dollypop. We’ve had a good week for a change :). I love my family – I just wish my other kids and grandkids were closer. It’s tough being so far away from them. xxx and hugs

  6. footsy2 says:

    Congratulations on the engagement Dinx. As for the gate business. The news from SA just gets stranger and stranger.

  7. d1nx says:

    Seriously footsy, strange is an understatement. I’m not sure how much longer I can stay here. Just wish I had the financial wherewithal to pack up and leave. Hugs to you xxx

  8. Wendy Tr says:

    HI Dinx, thanks so much for popping into my blog and leaving such a sweet message!!! As you left that, I was heading off on a big cycling adventure from Vietnam to Cambodia…back safely and all good in my world! Kids, life and everything else seem to have taken up my blogging time, but still have you in my feeder!!! Perhaps one day I will return to blogging ;)
    Congratulations on your son’s engagement!!! Much love to you. xxxxx

    • d1nx says:

      Thank you darling girl – so much for your message. So good knowing you’re all good. WOw, what an adventure you had indeed… you really have been busy! I think you have my email addie? When you have a chance let me know about the cycling tour – sounds fantastic. And are you still in Morocco? Lots of love dearest M&T. Hugs as always, Di xxx

  9. adinparadise says:

    Your son’s fiancee is lovely, and looks like a really fun person. Congrats to them, and to you. Well done to your San Fran son-in-law. You must be so proud of him. :) Good luck with your war against utter stupidity. I agree with you that South Africa is fast becoming a very unattractive place in which to reside, in spite of the beauty of our country. Very sad indeed. xxx

    • d1nx says:

      Hi ad. She is loads of fun. Thanks so much for the good wishes for them and for the San Fran branch. Much appreciated. I’m very down and depressed about staying here. I wish I could just up and leave. So glad you have the best of both worlds at the mo. Hugs xxx

  10. Janice Tripepi says:

    Oh my what a time you are having Dinx. Well, I know Ro and can attest to her effervescent nature and inherent sense of fun. She has beauty and loads of brains and talent. How very blessed your family is and I wish them a long and happy marriage that is defined by mutual respect, friendship and an ever growing love. xxxx janjan

    • d1nx says:

      Hi Jan dollypop, I thought you knew her when I saw a comment you made on her timeline.. :). She’s a darling and we too wish them a good, healthy and happy life together – with respect and love as you say. I do love her! :). Thank you so much for your good wishes. Hope you guys on the Coast are all well and happy and cooking up a storm as always :). Lotsa love Jan xxx

  11. elisaruland says:

    Congratulations on your happy news, your future daughter-in-law sounds like she is the perfect fit!

  12. Dizzy says:

    Hey Dinx, congrats on Doron’s engagement! As for your battle…that’s one reason we are considering staying over here. I do miss everyone – my friends, my family, the fabulous culture we have. But I am tired of all the shit I see and hear about :-( It just doesn’t seem to be getting better..Love you lots hun xox

    • d1nx says:

      Thank you darling Dizz. I don’t blame you for wanting to stay away. If I could I would be gone in a New York minute. It just doesn’t stop here and they think they’re above the law -all this high falutin’ posh stuff – they get away with murder – look at our ministers and the government in general – and the municipalities. They’re bleeding us dry.. of everything including emotion and empathy.
      Anyhow.. I miss you loads. xx

  13. pinkpolkad0tfood says:

    Hi Dinx, I am sure that I have left a reply earlier! …. but once again, Congratulations!! Time for a new post!! :)

    • d1nx says:

      Hi my darling Polkie. Thanks so much.. I’ve had a hectic month or so – my friend’s daughter (who got cancer after her mom died and is now paralysed in a wheelchair), her cancer has come back and her father has been diagnosed with liver cancer @ same time and they’re both lying in the same ward in the oncology hospital. I’m sick. Her daughter is 17 and it looks like she’s going to lose her grandpa and mom 18ths after she lost her granny. How does this happen to one family?
      Anyway, I do miss all of you. xxx hugs and love

  14. colonialist says:

    There is something belonging to you on my blog …

  15. Sonel says:

    Hi Dinxie and congrats hon. They are such a beautiful couple! Good to see you again hon! *hugs*

  16. Lisaman says:

    Hey Dinxie.. Fantastic news.. Lots of love

  17. Jeanius says:

    HIi Dinx:) Good seeing you. Bless and all joy to you and the family:)

  18. gipsika says:

    Mazel tov, Dinxie! What wonderful news about your son – and also, your son-in-law with his achievements.

    Yes the gates can be a real pain. If they are going to gate a community, they should follow procedures, form a neighbourhood committee, discuss it, figure out where the gates are practical, and for wailing, involve all, not simply go ahead for a few celebrities!

    I understand urban e-tolling has been signed off by the Head Honcho getting a money kickback (which doesn’t make it legitimate anyway). And Outa fighting it has run out of funds after expending millions on the court battle. You’re right about the corruption.

  19. batzed says:

    Congrats for you and the family.
    Huge Batzed Hugz

Leave a Reply

