Catch up on 2012

Things got a whole lot more complicated before and after I went to USA. We had such a bad run last year, personally, I’m VERY pleased 2012 is over.

I’ve lost 2 of my closest friends in the past year. Rochelle, so suddenly, at the end of 2011 and Nadia in December – last month – watching her suffer with horrible cancer and spending as much time with her as I possibly could, was traumatic to say the least. My heart, my love, my thoughts are with her beautiful family who suffered so much while watching her vanish in front of their eyes. I am very grateful I’m alive! Nadia is my hero and always will be.

I got to Florida at the end of August and B arrived in Fort Lauderdale a few days later so we could board the Oasis of the Seas on a gorgeous cruise to the West Caribbean. I’d planned and booked this before “the” almost fateful emergency surgery. Then we took a road trip from Florida to Georgia (Fort Lauderdale to Atlanta). In Atlanta, we spent some time with friends, ex-Pretorians and got see my nephew, who is now an Associate Professor at a University in Georgia. My darling brother would have been so proud of him. So much has happened in 9 years, it’s really scary.

We also did a day’s road trip from Atlanta to Tennessee, to a little town called Whitwell just across the county line of Georgia. I wanted to go there for a particular purpose, which I’ll write about in the next post. Then flew to San Francisco to catch up with our children and gorgeous grandchildren. They are my life and my energy… !

After our High Holidays with the children (minus Doron – he was missed), Basil left San Francisco, early on a Friday morning and spent the weekend in air terminals! Eventually he got home on the Monday –  3 days late. Airlines and us don’t do well together unfortunately. The Delta flight he was on was cancelled in Atlanta while they were waiting for take-off: apparently a worker dropped a pallet on the wiring and they grounded that flight, informing the passengers that the next flight they could get them on was in 6 days’ time. What a mess… he felt like Tom Hanks in the movie Terminal. Eventually he got on a flight to France on the Saturday night and spent Sunday at a Paris terminal, waiting for Egypt Air to Cairo and after plane changes again, to SA! And as if that wasn’t enough, 10 days later while running early morning with his ‘pack’ of (young) runners, he slipped in a puddle and broke his arm – split the humerus just on the shoulder ball joint. And it was the right arm. He had surgery with a pin put in and was again out of commission for 4 weeks. Another locum for the practice, a driver to get around AND a nurse to help him shower and dress etc! There was no way I could come back timeously as Tania was due to have a surgical procedure the following week and I was staying to help with Stella. In retrospect I’m very pleased I wasn’t around as I would have had to do all the nursing and… and… and… :).

[Writing this has been quite cathartic for me, as I haven’t really dealt with the trauma of the past month or so, nor with cardiac bypass and open heart surgery last July. Fortunately, I seem to withstand the continuously bubbling cauldron which is My Life!]

The family Batmitzvah in Knysna/Wilderness, although fantastic, was not the best time for the ‘aged’ to go on holiday in this country – December/January – hopefully not again; the place was teeming with families on school holidays. But the simcha (happy event), was excellent and more so being with all my extended family… all except my own children and grandchildren. That part is always most depressing: Split family life is the pits! But we’re back now … and trying to get into the groove of a new year.

kids.jpgOur 5 grandchildren in Northern California are all well thank G-d – and quite gorgeous I think… obviously. I can’t stand being so far away from them though. Left: 3 of Nicki’s – Daniel 11 ½ – Barmitzvah in Israel PG in July 2014, Jed (the blondie), nearly 4 and Sage 6 ½, with their baby cousin Stella, 17 months (Tania’s little girl).

Below left: my Zak, Nicki’s 9 year old, who flew from San Francisco to Irvine to visit a little friend of his for a long week-end last week, (as an unaccompanied minor – so cute – they grow up so fast). And the latest picture of Jed after his short haircut last week. It’s been getting shorter and shorter since last year – I do miss his long blond locks, but he is the cutest and cleverest Jedifish in the world!

Zak.jpg Jed220113

My thoughts for this week:

~ Don’t let someone who gave up on their dreams, talk you into giving up your own.

~ Reason has always existed, but not always in a reasonable form. — Karl Marx

~ We are here on earth to do good upon others, what the others are here for, I have no idea. — WH Auden

About d1nx

Techno-Gran living and working in Pretoria, South Africa and spending 3 months of the year with my 2 daughters and their husbands and 5 grandchildren on the East Bay, Northern Californa. Started blogging on my recovery from Spinal surgery in 2007 and have taken many twists and turns on my life's journey and varying chapters of my life.
This entry was posted in Health, Personal Journal, Photos, USA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Catch up on 2012

  1. colonialist says:

    What a year, indeed! Tragedy and joy, and mishap and fun, all coming into the mix.
    Gorgeous grandkids indeed!

    • d1nx says:

      Thank you Col. A mixed up mush is what last year was… mind you.. the last decade has been a bit shitty to say the least, with some good things in between fortunately. Hugs

  2. adinparadise says:

    What a varied year you had, and so busy too. So sorry for your sad losses, and so glad you came through your own medical emergency with flying colours. Your grandkids are adorable little munchies, although Zak probably wouldn’t like to be called a little munchie. :) He’s growing up so fast. Poor Basil, he really has had a few really trying times, and I hope his arm has healed perfectly. Wishing you a peaceful and healthy year, with no unpleasant surprises. xxx

  3. 68ghia says:

    Your grandies are seriously cute Di ;-)
    Quite a year you have behind you, eh. Just as well it’s over now – time for the new year to bring some good vibes your way ;-)

  4. Hillary says:

    I always love reading your blogs – cuz, you make me proud and I just wish you wouldn’t have to go through all the “dramas” in life. I love the pictures of the kids – they are gorgeous! Love you lots xx Hill xx

    • d1nx says:

      Thanks Hill my darling. As I said, my life is a bubbling cauldron… no time to get bored I suppose.. keeps me off the streets :). Luvya to the moon and back xxx – PS Have to call you this week – got things to tell you :).

  5. You’ve been through a whole lot this past year Dinxie. Those grand kiddies are truly beautiful!
    *hugs*

    • d1nx says:

      Thank you happyhope … they are rather precious :). Wish you would send me a pic of your daughters – dying to see that little one of yours especially :). HUGS xxx

  6. footsy2 says:

    Thanks for the update Dinx. Sorry you had such difficult 2012. Keeping blogging – your posts are always a treat.

  7. gipsika says:

    Hi Dinx! Truly blessed with beautiful grandchildren! But gee, you’ve had a bit of a tough year-and-a half! Glad you are so resilient re surgery, sorry to hear about your loss of two best friends!

  8. zirkie says:

    Your grandchildren are beautiful Dinx and I am sure 2013 will be a wonderful year for you and your loved ones! Hugs!

    • d1nx says:

      Thank you darling Zirkie. I’m taking 1 day at a time now… making the most of every day! Hope 2013 is going to be great for you too. Hugs xxx

  9. Eventful times. Hope all is now plain sailing.

Leave a Reply

