Le’Chaim to 2013!

A week into a new year and I’ve made no resolutions, except to tackle my paperwork timeously and perhaps blog, on a more regular basis.
DSC01785

Brunch

Look at the groaning brunch table


2012, please G-d, is behind me – at a great cost, health-wise and financial I might add. But the beginning of 2013 brought great joy as we were fortunate enough to be part of a family simcha (celebration) in the form of a Batmitzvah (a rite of passage to early adulthood – age 12), and a reunion with precious family, some of whom I haven’t seen in almost a year. We were blessed, as we also got to spend a fabulous evening & dinner with another cousin and his wife in Plettenberg Bay! Thank you Cecil and Stacy… it really was a memory maker for me. I’m sorry we didn’t take any pics! We will have to remedy this, ‘cos we just don’t do it enough – somehow life gets in the way.
The week started off in Knysna in a comfortable townhouse on the edge of a lake. A forced rest as, for a change, there were no children. I did 100’s of Sudoku puzzles and read magazines… the “trashy” kind. Whenever I go away, it’s to or with my grandchildren… this time there was no excuse not to rest! The weather was comfortable too, mostly. Much cooler than Pretoria fortunately.
Thursday saw us leaving Knysna early for the Shul service in George at 9.30am. It’s a long drive, mainly single lane highways, but drivers there, mostly keep to the speed limit which is a good thing. Even the Gauteng visitors seemed to stick to the speed limit. So good that we experienced no road rage in the whole week – tourists and all! I’m so sorry I didn’t take pictures in the Shul (synagogue) – it’s the cutest and teeniest one I’ve ever been in. And new! Probably 70 people maximum could be seated with a squash and it was full for this wonderful celebration. Kol Hakavod to all Lisa and Dean’s family & friends from around South Africa and abroad, who made the journey and helped to make the event as successful as it was.
But it didn’t end there: the food and the décor will be the subject of many discussions around the country, for a long time to come. Lisa, the mommy of the Batmitzvah, is a trained chef from the Silwood Kitchen and she did the catering for the whole day at their home in the Wilderness. They ordered a few things in from Cape Town, but the bulk of the food was made and decorated painstakingly by Lisa. (It’s not a good idea to do your own function though – one just cannot enjoy it as one should.) The pictures will speak for themselves. From the brunch between 11 and 1 and the dinner from 6.30 pm, everything was picture perfect. B and I trekked back to Knysna for the afternoon and because of the traffic I took a detour in Knysna and popped a tyre on the kerb! So aggravating and costly to boot! Fortunately we did manage a couple of hours rest before the 55km journey back to Wilderness. It was all so worth it! On Saturday we did the trip again to George for dinner to celebrate my cousins’ wedding anniversary, (she being the granny of the Batmitzvah girl). My only regret was that none of my children could be there too.

DSC01794

Handmade chocolate shoes – by Lisa

DSC01784

A “caged” large Brie cheese covered with marinated oranges and other fruit

DSC01817

DSC01796

 Above: Beautiful chocolate Ganache and hand made animal “fur” look choccie decorations (by Lisa) 
DSC01786

Below: The special Batmitzvah Cake with the Tiramisu dessert, (made by Lisa), at the dinner!
The special Batmitzvah Cake

Blessings and mazel tov to you all, my darling family! May there always be simchas and happiness in your lives.
More photos to come soon…

About d1nx

Techno-Gran living and working in Pretoria, South Africa and spending 3 months of the year with my 2 daughters and their husbands and 5 grandchildren on the East Bay, Northern Californa. Started blogging on my recovery from Spinal surgery in 2007 and have taken many twists and turns on my life's journey and varying chapters of my life.
This entry was posted in Family Celebrations, Personal Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Le’Chaim to 2013!

  1. colonialist says:

    It all looks as though it did a lot to make up for all the woe of 2012! I so love the Knysna area, even though the scene of my youth there will never return. Wonder if I’ll ever get there again?
    Anyway, belatedly all the appropriate season’s greetings to you!

    • d1nx says:

      January 8, 2013 at 10:38 pm (Edit)

      And to you dearest Col. Happy everything to you and your beautiful family too. Thank you for looking out for me, I do so appreciate it. I think I’ll start posting backward now.. :) but I’d need to post weekly to catch up! LOL
      (Just realised my reply was a standalone comment.. so here it is again :))

  2. d1nx says:

    And to you dearest Col. Happy everything to you and your beautiful family too. Thank you for looking out for me, I do so appreciate it. I think I’ll start posting backward now.. :) but I’d need to post weekly to catch up! LOL

  3. 68ghia says:

    What a gorgeous spread Di!!!
    Good to see you here – would be great if you blogged more often ;-)

  4. Maxima says:

    I enjoy reading your posts and look forward to all your new post

  5. footsy2 says:

    Wow! That all looks absolutely amazing. Good to see you Dinx.

    • d1nx says:

      So good to see you too footsy – I have been keeping up with you on email feed.. but going to try and blog more now. (Try being the operative word!) xxx

  6. adinparadise says:

    Great to see you here, Dinxie. Your pics are amazing. I just can’t imagine all the hard work that went into those parties. Fabulous! Wishing you a healthy and very happy 2013. Hugs and love to you.xx

  7. Everything looks so nice Dinxie, especially those chocolate shoes.

    • d1nx says:

      The shoes were amazing… still want to find out how she made them… everything was totally edible :). Thanks for popping in Hope doll… really really appreciate it. Gives my mojo a kick :). Hugs xxx

  8. Fun, family and unbelievable food – what a fab start to the year Di! :) Wishing you a year filled with only the best! And I hope that includes a trip to Cape Town :) Big Love Xx

    • d1nx says:

      Thanks my doll… it really was special being with my family from CT and Garden Route and surrounds. PG you have a brilliant year too… it has to be better than the last :). I’m adamant that I’m going to make it to CT this year for sure. Hugs and love xxx

  9. Dee Harris says:

    DarlingDinx…what a lovely time you had…thanx for including moi.

    • d1nx says:

      Would never come to CAW and not SEE you :). Such a blessing and a welcome couple of hours. Still lots to catch up on. Have a stunning w/end… hope you have a good rest. xx and hugs

Leave a Reply

