The Dinx Diary – 23 to 25 August 2010 and minor surgery

Originally posted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 23:53

As happy as I am to be in my own house and enjoying the quiet, I’m devastated to be so far away from my children and grandchildren. I miss them so much already. Very hard, this life we lead, but PG we will be together sometime in the not too distant future. And as long as they are safe and happy, I would never attempt trying to get them to come back.

I did, eventually, get to sleep last night at midnight after unpacking most of my stuff. As my char was coming in to day, I decided to put most of my clean stuff in the ‘ironing’ basket and Frieda ironed whatever needed to be and hung it all up as well as refolding and packing all my other stuff away today. What a pleasure! But I did have an excuse:
[Sadly for me], at 5.15 on Monday morning, as I walked out into the bathroom, I slipped (in the dark) in Pretzel’s wee (stupid dog… why me? Why did he do that on Monday morning.. OY!) Smashed my hand into the doorframe and slammed my thumbnail. With blood gushing my poor nail was hanging on a thread – (no, this isn’t called hangnail :P~~)
I bandaged myself up and managed to get to the airport in time.

Above Right: My reason for crying: The goodbyes on Sunday night were devastating. The kids were heartbroken and Daniel suprised me more than any of them as he was inconsolable. It finishes me off.

Because I brought some books I’d been given as gifts, also books I’d bought, as well as a rather hefty parcel of books with a Smartpen (Pulse 4G-I’m green with envy), for a friend of mine, I had 56 lbs in 1 case and 54 in the 2nd… if one has 1 lb over the 50 lbs allowed for dometic travel (eg. from SFO to Washington), one has to pay $25 per lb. A moneymaking racket which all airlines have adopted since 2005 in the US!! Fortunately (for me?) I was crying so much by that point at the check in, not only because of my poor aching thumb, that I think the check-in lady felt sorry for me… and never said a word… she just put the baggage stickers on the handles and gave me the receipts and my boarding cards for the long haul as well without a word! Most unusual… it pays to cry it seems… even in America! LOL

This morning, I was woken up at 9 am with a call from my friend. C’est la vie – later than I expected to wake up anyway. The rest of the morning passed in a blur and this afternoon I gathered courage and went to the the doctor. I’d thought he’d remove my nail, but no, he reckons that studies have shown that keeping the nail affixed somehow on to the nail bed as long as possible, is the way to go. As long as the nail bed hasn’t been badly damaged, promotes the growth of the new nail. So he gave me 4 lidocaine-type injections into and around the base of my thumb – very eina – to deaden it and then pushed the nail back into and the under the skin and bandaged it with a splint. Have to try and keep it like this for 3 weeks.

Other than that.. I’m tired and mizzies again… about to hit the sack.

Something that made me smile today (besides the lovely warm welcome I got from some of my friends per phone and on Facebook), is this photo I took Sunday a week ago at the winery in Sonoma, near Napa with my new telescopic lens I’d bought for my camera. One can just see the Jacuzzi name on the hillock in the distance.

Hugs,

About d1nx

Techno-Gran living and working in Pretoria, South Africa and spending 3 months of the year with my 2 daughters and their husbands and 5 grandchildren on the East Bay, Northern Californa. Started blogging on my recovery from Spinal surgery in 2007 and have taken many twists and turns on my life's journey and varying chapters of my life.
This entry was posted in Personal Journal, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

