San Francisco – June 2010 – Part I

 I promised myself I’d write a daily journal from the day I arrived in San Francisco. Well today is 2 weeks exactly and I’ve not yet made good my promise. With 4 grandchildren, ranging in age from almost 9 to 14 months, there’s very little room for self (when it comes to this granma). I don’t want to miss a minute of them! It’s kind of hard to do when 2 of them are stuck like glue. Even though they go to day camps now for the summer, the running up and down for different times of camp logistically, is a nightmare of a schedule. Fortunately I am here so Nicki can run out and about and leave 1 or more of the children and not to have to pack them all up to schlep in the car to fetch the others. We do have a problem Houston – Baby Jed, can’t bear to have his mama out of his line of sight. It’s a huge problem and he can scream for 20 minutes as if someone was attacking him with a bat. I was really nervous on the first day that the neighbours would call the police. And even though he sees me every day, he’s happy and talks to me and plays with me and we sing, as long as Mom is in sight – or the babysitter, which annoys me big time, as you can imagine :).

He’s already learnt from me to shake his finger and say NO NO NO as if someone was giving a lecture :) and he makes the hand movements for the poem “In a cottage in a wood” that I’ve taught them all at this stage of their lives. He doesn’t need to talk, we all understand the grunts and points and every need of Jed’s is anticipated, if not by mom and dad, then by the other 3 cutie pies. And of course now by me. I’m dying for him to come and play with me like the others did. Oh well, I can’t win ‘em all. If I leave him for a while and ignore the screams, he eventually settles down and comes to play, but it’s tough listening to those screams without pause, for well on 20 plus minutes. Then his mom walks in 2 hours later and he looks at me as if I was the axe murderer LOL. But when he’s good, he’s very very good.

Yesterday Nicki got a Gastro bug and today, her hubs and I and 2 of the kids had it too. I feel rather fluish as well, but that I think is due to the little surgical procedure I had on Tuesday on my mouth. Cracked a tooth on a cherry stone and $600 later, it has to settle so I can get back home to have an implant. G-d knows how expensive that will be.  I have stitches in my mouth and my cheeks are rather swollen – I do look like the cabbage patch dolls of yore, but not as cute.

The boys felt too bad to go to camp so they were rather bored unless watching TV or playing computer games, so I got Daniel, Zak and Sage on my bed for the afternoon and we played games and sang songs and had a ball… although it was tough going with them after a few hours – my body just ached, while Nicki had her haircut and a manicure and pedi. G-d knows how she does these things under normal circumstances. But I’ve been saying this forever and she’s been here 12 years, so all I can say is TG they are safe here and happy.

In fact, this was in their local city paper yesterday (it’s a weekly one) and I found it quite hysterical coming from South Africa. I’ve copied this verbatim:

SERIOUS CRIMES for the past week  And now for the others …
2… auto burglaries  43… traffic stops; 29 citations, 1 arrest
2… drunk drivers; 2 arrests  18… alarms
1… auto theft  11… medical emergencies/assists
1… grand theft  10… animal control
1… ID theft  7… security/welfare checks
1… vandalism  7… parking complaints, 6 citations
  4… non-injury accidents
  3… found property
  2… abandoned vehicles
  2… gas leaf blowers

More when I can get a minute or two without being totally exhausted

HUGS,

About d1nx

Techno-Gran living and working in Pretoria, South Africa and spending 3 months of the year with my 2 daughters and their husbands and 5 grandchildren on the East Bay, Northern Californa. Started blogging on my recovery from Spinal surgery in 2007 and have taken many twists and turns on my life's journey and varying chapters of my life.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to San Francisco – June 2010 – Part I

  1. granny1947 says:

    good Morning Axe murderer…..$600!!!! That would have hurt me more than the tooth!

    • d1nx says:

      Hi Gran doll. Yep.. can you imagine the screaming.. I’m not exaggerating, jed has a pair of lungs and a more! Sjoe.
      You can be sure the price of that extraction has hurt a lot and I’m not sure the travel insurance is going to pay it. I’m k@kking myself! Hope you have a marvellous weekend. xxx

  2. supagran says:

    Jeepers they know how to charge there! ouch. Glad you are enjoying your grandchildren, it must be exhausting with 4 of them, I can imagine you sleep well! :)

  3. d1nx says:

    Nothing is cheap here – I don’t care what anyone says.. it just isn’t. As for the kids, they ARE exhausting but worth it, but this 24/7 for a couple of months, busy with kids day and night is not normal granma life. It’s a terrible price we pay for immigration. Not funny at my age!

  4. halfp1nt says:

    I do hope you’re not coming down with a bug on top of everything else. I’m sure it’s just a phase that Jed is going through; Skye was like that with hubby when she was but a tot, to the extent that she refused to go to him at all (not good for hubby’s ego, lol!). Once she turned 2, it all changed and she’s thought he’s the best thing since sliced bread ever since :)
    Look after yourself, doll, and don’t (or try not to) overdo things.
    Hugs
    xxx

  5. Dee says:

    Howsit, Doll!?
    Listen babe, are you trying to enrich dentists all over the globe? Implants? think about R20G at least.
    I’m glad that you are keeping out of mischief and LittleJed will come round and realise that GrannyDi is the besstest there is!
    Take care of you my chavera…

  6. Sharon says:

    Shame hope little Jed gets use to you before you leave!! Sounds like you are having lots of fun with the grandkids none the less!! Hope your Travel Insurance will cover the ‘little expense’… and a BIG ROFL at the crime stats!! :)
    Look after yourself!!! *hugs hun*
    xxxx

  7. Tokeloshe says:

    It seems as if you are quite busy, I can’t imagine where you get the time to post, but I am sure you are having lots of fun.

    LOL I should do Calgary’s crime report.

    Carletonville’s police station theft was in Calgary’s paper!

    Hugs & Love,
    xxx

  8. EverMe says:

    DinxyLady, 3 x found property! Oh yeah hehe
    Sounds like you having a blast, sorry about ya tooth. Hugs and Love

  9. New Attitude says:

    *big hugs* Dinx shame man you been in the wars – get better soon and enjoy your grandchildren, just remember to take some time for yourself too…..xxx

  10. EverMe says:

    Hope you loving Frisco! Hope the mouth is feeling better and you not chewing on any more cherry stones hehe. xxx

Leave a Reply

