Versatile Blog Award

I, amongst a lot of other bloggers have been

awarded a Versatile blogger’s Award

1. Acknowledge the award givers.

Thank You for the tag/award Another Day kalinka – sweet of you both to think of me too :). In fact I’m glad I did this – I rediscovered some of my past in this pursuit.

2. State 7 random / unknown facts about yourself.

Not much is not known about me around these parts – even things I don’t know about myself are public knowledge I believe. Isn’t the rumour mill a wonderful thing? LOL

So… for newer peeps who haven’t read as far back, (on Letterdash/24), here are some lesser-known facts I think, (I googled myself actually LOL) in chronological (yearly) order.

  1. My original professional career was… (I’m chuckling here), Optometrist. Qualified nogal. But after lecturing to final year students for a few years, in Visual Perception and Remedial Education, I got a bit bored and went back to Uni to study Datametrics and Computer Programming (in those days, called BASIC) – I used the old original Apple in those days, before the rest of the world boycotted us.

  2. In 1991 I began my “online career” with Beltel on the Telkom network in CHATNET and FROGG channels with the user nick of Moonbeam. Still friendly with most of the peeps circa 1991 in real life and we have both Chatnet and Frogg pages on Facebook.

  3. I was a founding member of PRETNET (Pretoria Education Network) in 1995 – we initiated the connection of all schools to the World Wide Web in South Africa, including rural schools which we linked via cell phones and generators. My students (Carmel Pretoria) were the first group in South Africa to link up and interact with online projects with schools around the world – mainly the USA at the time.
  4. In 1996 we, as the Pretnet committee sent 2 highschool students from Eersterus and Mamelodi (Chris and Ruth), to Holland to sail on the boat, the Zeester, around Holland running the Blue Eyes, Brown Eyes Anti Racism tour. I started #za on IRC (Internet Relay Chat) to run discussions with school students around the globe, every afternoon at 4 pm with Chris and Ruth – which I moderated.
  5. A report I wrote after the Magenta Anti Racism Tour in Holland in 1996, was published in the I*EARN yearbook “An End to Intolerance” in 1997 – in the USA.
  6. The price of immigration weighs heavily on South Africans and the split family syndrome that my family lives with particularly, is the bain of my life. It’s a hefty price to pay for our children’s safety. I cry almost every day (alone) because I miss my children and grandchildren angelpies so very much. I thank my lucky stars I have my son close by – but that’s also a worry in this ZA climate!
  7. Although I’m a good listener, I have a saturation point. I don’t tolerate fools, pettiness and continual miserable peeps easily. Life is hard enough and I’ve lost too many family members and friends at a young age, and seen too much tragedy to allow [much] more than a minute of it “slip by”.

3. Award 10/12 bloggers, who deserve the award “Versatile Blogger” – so I’ve tagged the following peeps – if you’ve been tagged already.. then great – double for your trouble :)

Tokeloshe

Liona

RIC007WP

kelvinb

Sonel

shlwanjan

Supagran

Brandy

inspiration

DarlingDee

AQ

Sharon

About d1nx

Techno-Gran living and working in Pretoria, South Africa and spending 3 months of the year with my 2 daughters and their husbands and 5 grandchildren on the East Bay, Northern Californa. Started blogging on my recovery from Spinal surgery in 2007 and have taken many twists and turns on my life's journey and varying chapters of my life.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Versatile Blog Award

  1. halfp1nt says:

    Thanks for sharing, doll. You really have achieved a lot.
    Stunning necklaces you’ve made to take over as gifts – the girls are going to be thrilled! You must be counting the days now until you leave.
    Hugs
    xxx

  2. Sonel says:

    Awww…thanks sweetie! That was so sweet of you! :)
    Have a great day hon!
    Big hugs
    xxx

    • d1nx says:

      Dearest Sonelikins, you are versatile – I’ve been reading your blog with the templates that you’ve created. I think you’re amazingly talented. Except I can’t comment on your blog at blogspot – did you do that on purpose or am I just idiotic and can’t find the right field?
      Lots of love and hugs xxx

  3. Tokeloshe says:

    I’m always learning something new about you. Thanks for sharing.

    Thank you Sweetie. ;-)

    Tag done, Tok’s way, LOL with photos.
    I went trough my blogroll, it’s so sad, many have left or haven’t blogged in a while. ;-(

    Thank you for the visits.
    Hugs,
    xxx

    • d1nx says:

      I’m on my way to check ‘you’ out :). Thanks for doing it.
      You won’t believe what I’m watching right now… Big Love. Weird society we live in :P~~
      Hugs my love
      (btw, it’s very sad about the ones who have left – I still prefer that platform to this).
      Enjoy the rest of your day doll
      Hugs xxx

  4. Pingback: Random facts about Tok « Tokoloshe

  5. colonialist says:

    Cheeee! I thought I’d responded here the first time I read it, but obviously not!

    You seem to be operating very efficiently on this site!

    • d1nx says:

      LOL Col… Thanks though. I’m sure you did respond on the LD post. Here and there I’m reposting.
      I operate well here mainly ‘cos I work in html.- so I have no trouble here or on the other site. I prefer the warmth of the LD though (even with the bitchiness, resentment and hostility.)

  6. grandawn says:

    Wow! Many accomplishments. I feel for you in your separation from children and grandchildren. I am blessed to have my children and grandchildren near.

    • d1nx says:

      Welcome to my world grandawn! Fortunately the time has come for me to visit them, so for the next 3 months I shall not cry :). You are blessed indeed!

  7. supagran says:

    I love the necklaces you have made for your daughters, if they don’t like them pass them my way! Thanks for the tag but I cannot for the life of me think of 7 things that you guys don’t already know about me already! When are you leaving? My folks are starting to get excited about my visit, shame.

    • d1nx says:

      Hi Supadupa… thanks! I’ll be sure to bring them back if they don’t like them :). When you come to Jhb again, when I get back, I’ll make one for you :).
      I’m sure your folks can’t wait for you. You’re going to have a marvellous time – my son was there last week – the weather was absolutely perfect. Although he only had the w/end in London to have fun, the rest of the week was in Bristol on business.
      As for things about you – I’m sure there’s plenty about you, that you haven’t shared :). Seriously, I did Google myself – it helps when Alzheimer starts creeping over us! hehehe
      Hope you’re enjoying your w/end. (I’m trying to organise my packing for 3 mths – I leave on Wednesday).

Leave a Reply

