Beads and Pearls

This is how I’ve spent every spare minute over the last couple of weeks, in between the usual work day and running a home, as well as aqua aerobics 3 times a week. I feel a tad out of breath actually, but I really wanted to make these pearl and precious gem stone necklaces for my daughters in Northern California. Although we do buy oodles of gifts before I leave, I haven’t been with them for their birthdays the past year, (not that I ever am, sadly), so these are special handmade pressies from Mommy :). I’m not partial to the usual strings of pearls any more. They’re so outdated. I hope I created something special for them to pass on to their children one day. 

I used variations of chocolaty-coloured cultured pearls with similar coloured freshwater pearls, Ethiopian silver and quartz circular balls. Some I mixed with rose quartz fragments, coloured crackle glass fragments and brightly coloured freshwater pearls. The findings are all silver and all the strings are silk. Now the girls need to choose the string they prefer. My luck, they’ll probably want the same one… not one string is alike.

The picture on the right shows the 3 expensive strings all together. They would look rather good all together I’d say … But no can do! LOL

The string below left is a cheaper version, made of fragmented coloured glass and glass round beads with silver findings.

About d1nx

Techno-Gran living and working in Pretoria, South Africa and spending 3 months of the year with my 2 daughters and their husbands and 5 grandchildren on the East Bay, Northern Californa. Started blogging on my recovery from Spinal surgery in 2007 and have taken many twists and turns on my life's journey and varying chapters of my life.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Women and Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Beads and Pearls

  1. Luscious One says:

    They’re just beautiful, Dinx. I’m sure the girls will love them. You’re so special and thoughtful. I’m so glad I know you.

  2. Sonel says:

    It’s absolutely gorgeous sweetie! I am sure they will love it! :)
    Have an awesome day!
    Big hugs & love
    xxx

  3. Tandy says:

    The girls are sure to love all of them xxxx

  4. granny1947 says:

    Lucky girls…they are stunning.

  5. brandy says:

    WOW Dinxy…they are just stunning!!!! Your girls will treasure them forever. Really beautifull (“,)

    • d1nx says:

      I’m glad you think so brands. I usually know their taste, so hopefully I went the right route :).
      How are you? I can’t get to the blogs .. I wanted to read “you”. Will get there over the w/end.
      HUGS my doll and loads of love
      xxx

  6. soulsearcher7 says:

    They are Lovely Dinx …xxx

    • d1nx says:

      Thank you thank you thank you darling soulsearcher. I can’t believe how the time just flies… it’s been ages since I got to wordpress. You are very kind. Hope all is well? HUGS xxx

  7. Tokeloshe says:

    It is so relaxing making something for someone, all the while thinking of them and their reactions.

    They are really gorgeous!

    They will bring out the color of so many outfits.

    Have a great day,
    Hugs,

    • d1nx says:

      I actually love them for myself – I never wear long strings or any necklace actually. But I’ve put these against different colours and they really do look gorgeous against all colours. Especially all 3 together :). Will have to come back and make some for myself.

      Hope you have a good day – and I do hope the weather is holding up and bright and sunny for you. xxx and hugs

  8. EverMe says:

    Stunning DinxyLady – Love the bright colours! Have a wonderful day

  9. colonialist says:

    Hi Dinx – nice shiny fings, those!

    Trying to find my way around, here….

    • d1nx says:

      Good to see you here Col. Won’t take you long to work it out. It’s less user friendly than LD, but not bad.
      They are rather shiny hey? LOL

  10. Dee says:

    Doll, these a BeAuTiFuLLLL!!! The girls are going to absolutely love and treasure them. You did a great job and your reward will be the joy in their eyes. Good Girl!!

    • d1nx says:

      Thanks Dee – I do hope they like them. Will let you know from that side :). TG for SMS and email. I’ve decided not to take the ostrich eggs… they’re too heavy with beads and too fragile to take so far.
      Mucho hugs dolla xxx

Leave a Reply

