You at 50

The video below was created for the AARP  U@50 video contest by a young film student at Columbia University in Chicago, Jonathan Reed, in 2007 or 2008. His video, based on an Argentinian Political Advertisement “The Truth” by RECREAR was placed second.

A palindrome reads the same backward and forward.  This video is a palindrome – playing the opposite backwards. Not only does it read the opposite, the meaning is the exact opposite too. It is only 1 minute 44 seconds long, but well worth listening and reading – forward and backward.

Lost Generation by Jonathan Reed

I am part of a lost generation
and I refuse to believe that
I can change the world
I realize this may be a shock but
“Happiness comes from within.”
is a lie, and
“Money will make me happy.”
So in 30 years I will tell my children
they are not the most important thing in my life
My employer will know that
I have my priorities straight because
work
is more important than
family
I tell you this
Once upon a time
Families stayed together
but this will not be true in my era
This is a quick fix society
Experts tell me
30 years from now, I will be celebrating the 10th anniversary of my divorce
I do not concede that
I will live in a country of my own making
In the future
Environmental destruction will be the norm
No longer can it be said that
My peers and I care about this earth
It will be evident that
My generation is apathetic and lethargic
It is foolish to presume that
There is hope.
And all of this will come true unless we choose to reverse it .

Now read it from the bottom to the top – or listen to it being read in reverse on the video.

With thanks to my friend Lilibee for sending me the link… you are awesome – THIS is awesome!

About d1nx

Techno-Gran living and working in Pretoria, South Africa and spending 3 months of the year with my 2 daughters and their husbands and 5 grandchildren on the East Bay, Northern Californa. Started blogging on my recovery from Spinal surgery in 2007 and have taken many twists and turns on my life's journey and varying chapters of my life.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to You at 50

  1. Sonel says:

    Wow! It’s absolute awesome sweetie! What a great video! I love it! :)
    Big hugs
    xxx

    • d1nx says:

      Isn’t it interesting? I was rather awestruck by this. He must have been 25 when he wrote it.
      I got your mail.. dankie baie.
      Huggles
      xxx

  2. EverMe says:

    DinxyLady this struck me so deep. Indeed we can undo what has been done. We can walk backwards and change the way things have been done!
    I loved it. I sent the link to my boss. Hope ya don’t mind.

    Shweetest warmest evening and lots love an hugs for ya! xxx

    • d1nx says:

      Of course I don’t mind… I think the youngster who created it is bloody marvellous.
      Hope you’re having a good evening… and I do hope you have another stunning weekend. You really take the ball and run with it.. never letting the grass grow under your feet. Clever lass you really are… means you’ll always make the most of your life.
      Love you doll xxx

  3. Tokeloshe says:

    Goosebumps!

    Beautiful, thanks for sharing.

    Hugs,

  4. 68ghia says:

    This is absolutely marvellous Dinx!

  5. d1nx says:

    Isn’t it amazing? He was only about 26 when he made the video. So clever… so true.
    xxx and hugs

  6. Tandy says:

    I love palindromes – my Batmitzvah date was a palindrome, and so is Dave’s car registration. Shabbat Shalom xxx

  7. Dee says:

    Hi LunarPal!
    Great post – how clever it is! I also appreciate the truth involved.

  8. gipsika says:

    Hey Dinx! Finally found you! It’s kalinka from LD, South Africa. :-))

Leave a Reply

